Ben Stiller to Host Nickelodeon's 18th Annual Kids' Choice Awards

Airing Live, Saturday, April 2, from UCLA's Pauley Pavilion

Jim Carrey, Adam Sandler, Beyonce, Tobey Maguire, Lindsay Lohan, Tim Allen, Ashton Kutcher, Hilary Duff, Drew Barrymore, Mike Myers, Cameron Diaz, Halle Berry Top List of Star Nominees

Shrek 2, Spider-Man 2, The Incredibles , Harry Potter, The Simpsons, The Fairly OddParents, Fear Factor, Drake & Josh, American Idol, Lizzie McGuire and SpongeBob SquarePants Get Nods, Too

Los Angeles, Calif. – February 8, 2005 – Ben Stiller (Meet the Fockers) will host Nickelodeon's 18th Annual Kids' Choice Awards, Saturday, April 2 (8-9:30 p.m. ET/PT), when kids honor their favorites from the worlds of film, music, sports and television in a star-studded live telecast (tape delayed for West Coast) from UCLA's Pauley Pavilion. Hailed as a "mini-Oscars," the event marks the night kids rule and Hollywood royalty revels with them in a singularly messy, noisy, slime-filled ceremony.

"We're thrilled to welcome Ben Stiller as a first-time host of Nickelodeon's Kids' Choice this year," said Marjorie Cohn, Executive VP, Nickelodeon Development and Original Programming. "He's hilarious, beloved by kids and a movie veteran of the kind of irreverent mayhem that is the hallmark of our slime-meets-stars Awards."

Stiller said, "Nickelodeon's Kids' Choice Awards is hands down the ultimate awards show involving the use of slime on stage. I'm looking forward to hosting the show and being in the middle of all the kid-fueled energy - and yes, maybe even orchestrating something so "kid-spirational" that Hollywood will be forced to let them sit at the grown ups awards table once and for all."

The feature film Shrek 2 topped the list this year, garnering five nominations for Favorite Movie, Favorite Voice from an Animated Movie (Eddie Murphy, Cameron Diaz and Mike Myers) and Favorite Video Game. A trio of nominations went to Hilary Duff for Favorite Movie Actress, Favorite TV Actress and Favorite Female Singer. Usher picked up three, too, for Favorite Male Singer and Favorite Song (Burn and My Boo). Destiny's Child notched noms in the Favorite Music Group and Favorite Song (Lose My Breath) categories, while Beyonce picked up one for Favorite Female Singer. Harry Potter got a pair of nods for Favorite Book series and Favorite Movie.

Stiller currently stars in the blockbuster hit comedy Meet the Fockers with Robert DeNiro, Dustin Hoffman and Barbra Streisand, reprising his role from the smash hit Meet the Parents for which he won an American Comedy Award for Funniest Male Performance. Next, Stiller lends his voice to Dreamwork's May-slated animated film, Madagascar with Chris Rock, David Schwimmer and Jada Pinkett Smith.

The nominees for Nickelodeon's 18th Annual Kids' Choice Awards are:


Favorite Movie

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
The Incredibles
Shrek 2
Spider-Man 2

Favorite Voice from an Animated Movie

Cameron Diaz (Shrek 2)
Eddie Murphy (Shrek 2)
Mike Myers (Shrek 2)
Will Smith (Shark Tale)

Favorite Movie Actor

Tim Allen (Christmas with the Kranks)
Jim Carrey (Lemony snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events)
Tobey Maguire (Spider-Man 2)
Adam Sandler (50 First Dates)

Favorite Movie Actress

Drew Barrymore (50 First Dates)
Halle Berry (Catwoman)
Hilary Duff (A Cinderella Story)
Lindsay Lohan (Mean Girls)


Favorite Song

Burn (Usher)
Lose My Breath (Destiny's Child)
My Boo (Usher and Alicia Keys)
Toxic (Britney Spears)

Favorite Music Group

Black-Eyed Peas
Destiny's Child
Green Day

Favorite Male Singer

LL Cool J

Favorite Female Singer

Hilary Duff
Alicia Keys
Avril Lavigne


Favorite Television Show

American Idol
Drake & Josh
Fear Factor
Lizzie McGuire

Favorite Cartoon

Ed, Edd n' Eddy
The Fairly OddParents
The Simpsons
SpongeBob Squarepants

Favorite Television Actor

Ashton Kutcher (That 70s Show, Punk'd)
Bernie Mac (The Bernie Mac Show)
Frankie Muniz (Malcolm in the Middle)
Romeo (Romeo!)

Favorite Television Actress

Hilary Duff (Lizzie McGuire)
Eve (Eve)
Alyssa Milano (Charmed)
Raven (That's So Raven)


Favorite Athlete

Mia Hamm
Tony Hawk
Shaquille O'Neal
Alex Rodriguez


Favorite Video Game

Scooby Doo 2: Monsters Unleashed
Shark Tale
Shrek 2
Spider-Man 2

Favorite Book

Harry Potter series
Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events
A Wrinkle in Time

Kids will be able to vote in a total of 15 categories. In addition, surprise awards will be announced during the show. Voting kicks off on March 7 on and via cell phones by wireless text messaging. Additionally, kids can vote for their Favorite Athlete, Favorite Book and Favorite Video Game through a mail-in ballot offered exclusively in Nickelodeon Magazine's March issue. More than 17 million votes were logged by kids for their favorites last year.

Nickelodeon's 18th Annual Kids' Choice Awards will be seen in more than 150 million households on Nickelodeon's international channels in the U.K., Europe, Russia, Asia, Australia, Latin America and Brazil, as well as the U.S.

Nickelodeon's 18th Annual Kids' Choice Awards is being produced by Nickelodeon Productions in association with Bob Bain Productions. Bob Bain, Mike Burg and Marjorie Cohn are Executive Producers. General Mills, Burger King and Hasbro are presenting sponsors of Nickelodeon's 18th Annual Kids' Choice Awards, with Honda, Reebok and Pepperidge Farm Goldfish serving as associate sponsors. Media outlets can reference the most up-to-date information on Nickelodeon's 18th Annual Kids' Choice Awards by logging onto

Nickelodeon, which is in its 26th year, is the number-one entertainment brand for kids. It has built a diverse, global business by putting kids first in everything it does. The company includes television programming and production in the United States and around the world, plus consumer products, online, recreation, books, magazines and feature films. Nickelodeon's U.S. television network is seen in more than 86 million households and has been the number-one-rated basic cable network for more than eight consecutive years. Nickelodeon and all related titles, characters and logos are trademarks of Viacom International Inc.